FLASHBACK TO JANUARY 2011: I was registered to run the Houston Marathon – full, not the half. I was excited as the half course was my PR and I always have a great time running in my hometown. I even convinced a friend to run it. The week before my run, I went out for an easy 7-mile taper run. It was along my favorite bayou route. Adam and Dharma joined me for the first 5 miles. Dharma was tired so I told Adam he could turn off and I would finish a quick 2-mile loop before I made it back to the apartment. Not even ¼ mile from the turn, I was running on an uneven part of the trail and twisted my ankle. It took me down to the ground where a couple of runners who saw me fall stopped to make sure I was ok. I assured them I was then tried running. I made it to the bridge and was in excruciating pain. I hobbled the remaining mile home. Turns out I had a slight fracture in my ankle, less than a week before the marathon. It was too late to defer entry so I went to pick up my packet & t-shirt – on crutches. My mom was running the half so I wasn’t getting weird looks totally alone. That weekend I sat on a curb with signs I made to cheer on my friends and mom.

JULY 2013: I am currently registered to compete in my first half-ironman. This was my taper weekend and I was trying to break in some new running shoes. I decided to go out for an easy 7-mile run. I was running my favorite route – from Tenney Park up to the Capitol, down State Street, around campus, over to Lake Monona, back to Tenney. Even though it was a cool 70 degrees, I was still sweating pretty hard after the first mile thanks to the humidity.

After 5 miles, I stopped at Art Fair on the Square. I figured I was already downtown so why not take a break, walk the ½ mile loop, and check out some museum-quality art? I saw a lot of interesting booths and received lots of comments on my choice of attire. Hey, I was running, people! I fit two business cards in my tights pocket and decided I had seen enough. I really wanted some water but I knew with booths charging $2.50 for a small bottle, there was no way I could convince an establishment to hook me up with a refill. Rather than run down the Capitol City Bike Trail, I decided to take Johnson back. The bike trail is flat and sunny, Johnson is downhill and shady. I took Wisconsin away from the square and thought I was in the home stretch, ready to run strong back to Tenney.

I was stopped at Wisconsin and Johnson, wanting to run on the North side of the street. When the crosswalk had the right of way, I started cross. I was looking up at the people coming towards me headed to the art fair. That’s when the next thing I knew, I felt my ankle twist and I hit the pavement. From my view on the ground, I looked behind me and saw the gaping pothole in the middle of the crosswalk. I was also aware that the crosswalk signal was flashing so I had to get up or be run over (with Wisconsin drivers, you never know). Adam helped me to my feet and we cleared the intersection as the light was turning green for oncoming traffic. I just stood on one foot, using Adam for support for a few minutes. Then I decided I wanted the run to be done and the only way to do that was to get back to Tenney. I managed my best limping run to my jeep. After driving to breakfast, I went home and spent the rest of the day parked on my couch. Thanks to Adam, he helped me ice – 20 min off / 20 min off. Spicer decided my pillows were her new bed but let me use her for extra elevation when the ice was off my foot.

Today I’m keeping it wrapped and trying not to walk around needlessly. It’s amazing how productive I can be when I’m strapped to my desk. The swelling and discoloration isn’t as bad as January 2011, but it’s still somewhat swollen and bruised. I’m hoping to baby it this week and still race next weekend. After the bike, my feet will be numb anyways so I’m hoping to not feel it anyhow.

NOTE TO SELF: Stop running 7-mile taper runs!